A Man. And His Blog.

TV is my parent!

Episode Review: HAPPILY DIVORCED (“Anniversary”)

leave a comment »

Well, it seems like I won’t be getting friends with this show. I could easily cancel it after this episode. But I don’t know. Maybe I’m still too much into torture from television, and maybe I’m still waiting for a big laugh. After all, the pilot made me laugh. And there was a moment here, which made me smile.

The writers should finally stop bringing the same old jokes every time. I got the reason for the divorce during the pilot, and I don’t need it mentioned again and again. I even don’t need all the stories reminding me of it. Like here: Fran (Fran Drescher) literally destroys the wedding of a young couple, because she saw gayness in the guy, and reflects the situation in Fran’s and Peter’s (John Michael Higgins) life. Yeah, boring. And old. And so not funny anymore. Over the last year I have realized I’m pretty much not easily entertained anymore, when it comes to comedies. So, I was only smiling, when Jeremy (Michael Carbonaro) was dancing his little “dream wedding” dance, and the rest was pretty much … sleepy.

At least the direction of the story was alright. HAPPILY DIVORCED is still about the relationship between Fran and Peter, and it doesn’t stop to mention that the two are still in love with each other. The writers could have tried harder to connect that story with the two being broke and in need of money, but the little anniversary in the gay bar was a nice scene, even though I was cringing when they started to dance. Their fake smiles looked so darn fake, I thought about the possibility that the two don’t have any chemistry at all, which is overshadowed by the other fact that it’s a Fran show, and it tries too hard to be funny. It might be funny for the older audience, and the fake smiles might be sweet for this particular audience, but TV nerds like me… Oh my God. That makes the ENTOURAGE episode from before the most hilarious piece of comedy in the history of television.

Now I know why I’m still sticking with the show: I’m not waiting for the first real gag, but the first episode, which does not mentioned the divorce or anything similar, and instead will tell a complete different story. Three episodes in, all the introduction parts have to be over now. Or am I missing something? 3.5/10

Fran's curious: another gay dude in the house?

Cesar's got a phone call on his wallet

Written by Christian Wischofsky

July 15, 2011 at 9:30 AM

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 169 other followers

